On My Mind: I am convinced that I have been raised wealthy. Very wealthy. What I mean by this is that whenever we needed wanted something, we went to whatever store my mother frequented, and we bought it. I know my family or origin struggled with monumental debt.

This time of year, Christmas, has been hard for me in the past. The fighting, arguing, and silences followed by a ‘joyous time of opening gifts.’ I have worked hard to get past that and find peace in this season of Advent. Isn’t that one of the names of Jesus? The Prince of Peace?

Peace. Today, I am at rest. There is X amount of dollars in the checking account. A big hospital bill to pay. Less than 1 weeks worth of seasoned wood to heat our house, and I am at peace. There is dinner cooked and waiting for us to enjoy together. The children are going with my husbands parents to a concert of 1 of the many, many cousins we have. DH and I are going to go Christmas shopping, maybe. I am at peace.

I’m at peace because Jesus came and He lives. I KNOW that the hospital bill will get paid. I KNOW that somehow wood will become available to us for the wood stove (BTW, this is NOT a solicitation of any kind, just a testimony of the grace I have received from my Maker), I KNOW that my children will receive something wonderful for Christmas. I KNOW that God resides in my soul and that is the only present I want. All of these things come/ will come from the King of a Thousand Sheep on a Thousand Hills.

I think I am just pensive about my grandma. Neena. Born in 1910, died in 2004. She is my hero. She had borders live in her house to make ends meet. I have absolutely no needs. I have been doing minor research on Depression Era living. You know what? We might be headed that direction. And it will be good for us. I am so spoiled.

There’s a website you should look at. I am there about everyday lately because, as skilled as I am in the kitchen, I need help learning to cook and grocery shop cheap. The name of the website is, don’t laugh, it’s for real….. The Hillbilly Housewife. She has several menus and shopping lists that blow my mind. Good wholesome food made with cheap ingredients. Good stuff. That leads me to….

Cooking: Tonight’s menu, from the Hillbilly Housewife herself….

Taco meat
homemade tortillas
coleslaw

This is the Tortilla recipe, I have adapted it from somewhere off the internet.

Beloved’s Tortilla’s
4 c freshly milled, soft white wheat
2 t table salt
4 t baking powder
2 T lard
1.5-2 c warm water, enough to make the dough come together

1. In your stand mixer, using your paddle attachment, put in all of the ingredients BUT the water.
2. Mix on ‘stir’ until the lard has been ‘cut into’ the dry ingredients.
3. Slowly, drizzle in water until it forms a ball of dough as you are mixing. As soon as the ball forms, beat the dough for 1 minute or so to develop a little gluten.
4. Refrigerate until ready to cook.
5. Heat cast iron griddle on medium
6. Divide dough into 12 equal balls.
7. Use enough flour to prevent sticking, roll out dough into discs.
8. Cook on griddle, about 1 minute per side.
9. Place cooked tortillas into Ziploc bag so they can steam together and remain soft.

I am thinking the tortillas were made for less than 50 cents. The taco meat cost about $4.00 for 2.5lbs. A head of cabbage, a couple of carrots….. maybe $1.50. I am not costing in the seasonings, that would be too hard. So, I have a meal here, that will feed the 5 of us for 2 meals. That’s 10 meals.
4.00
1.50
+.50
$6.00 Not bad. Divide that by 10 (for 10 meals total), we are talking .60 cents a meal.

Well, DH is home. Gotta go and eat with my treasures. Peace, beloved

PS: This is MY Christmas present. Not the animal, just the fleece.

About beloved

I am my Beloved's and He is mine! View all posts by beloved

Leave a Reply

