Knit pictures and repentance, aren’t you glad you dropped by! ha

WEATHER:The weather is 78.8 F today, so far. Everything is green and I am hoping the pollen explosion is past. I love the sound of the wind in the leaves, especially when the leaves are young and light green.

KNITTING:I have been knitting. A lot. I like to spend my time knitting and not wrestling with my camera, computer, and blog server to show off what I have been doing. So, here is a couple of days worth of technology work to show you I DO still knit… A lot.

COOKING:Made a Mexican Chocolate Pound Cake today. Not very pretty as the bottom stuck badly, but with a gnache glaze…. I don’t think I’ll hear any complaints!

Interesting blending technique for a pound cake. Melted butter and chocolate and sugar together in a heavy bottom pan. Le Creuset rocks y’all! Then, added all the flour, leavening, cinnamon, etc and poured directly into the pan. Chocolate, perfectly deep and rich.

CLEANING: Not keeping up too well at the moment. I basically keep the kitchen under control, so I can cook another meal and keep the toilet from smelling awful. Other than that, it is pretty spotty. I just don’t have people over much, or, they drop in on me and I decide I don’t care. Works either way.

GARDENING: Disappointment this year. It is May 5th and have not tilled the garden or started seeds. This is NOT like me. We’ll see if I get anything in the ground this year. Still composting tho.

SCHOOLING: Classical Conversations is over until next October, thank You Jesus! Very stressful but good.

ON MY MIND: There is always a lot on my mind. Even tho I am an extrovert, I think a lot. My favorite times of day are in the early mornings and right before sleep. Lately, I am thinking about repentance. Big word. What is repentance? How does it show up in your life? What does it look like?

I RESENT strongly the idea that repentance is some kind of Pavlovian behavioral modification.

It was recently said to me, “Catie, you are such a good little girl.” The context was a pastor helping me with my problems with mom. This was NOT a complimentary statement. Goodness has never gotten me anywhere. In fact, our goodness is self-righteousness. Great. I’m self-righteous, I won’t argue with that. But how do you stop being that way? Repentance.

I have more definitions of repentance than I can comfortably write here. Change of mind. 180 degree turn in behavior.

Those are all paltry descriptions of a profound gift that The Father has given us. Repentance. The gift of the ability to change. How to effect that in your life tho. That’s what’s on my mind today.

About beloved

I am my Beloved's and He is mine! View all posts by beloved

2 responses to “Knit pictures and repentance, aren’t you glad you dropped by! ha

  • Sally

    i am so glad you posted, C — I feel like it’s the only way I ever see you! Your work is beautiful, and your point on repentance was well-taken . Thank you sharing your thoughts with us!

  • Mrs. W

    beautiful post C, and beautiful knitting! glad you’re blogging again, even if it’s just every so often. I suppose I should get back to it too. I have a lot to say (too much?) but don’t make the time to say it.

Leave a Reply

